Coloring?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Coloring?

I'm new at art in general but I'm sketching some fanart and I was wondering how everybody colors their art. I tried using some regular old colored pencils but it came out crappy. DO you scan your pictures and color them on the computer or use pastels or good colored pencils? What are some tecniques that are helpful?

Thanks,
    Jfish13

I either draw by pencil w/o color. Or I draw it on the comp with photoshop and load it up with color; if I had a scanner, I'd color in what I draw on paper cuz I suck at drawing on the comp, but .... what can you do?

I'd say get Photoshop, a tablet & stylus, and a scanner. I use Photoshop CS.
    Gigo: Hey, it's the person who puts 'asian' in 'caucasian'. Hi, Gryph. | | | wildflower: Hmm... should I side with "Gryph is more insane" based on conclusive evidence, or "Sharky is more insane" based on tradition? | | | [url="http://mariposa-mentiro

Comment

Thanks for the psot,
      yeah, i can't draw big stuff for beans on the computer. how do you get the art to have a textured look and not just a flat color? do you go pixel by pixel?I might ask for photoshop for Christmas or something. right now I'm using a program called GraphicsGale. it has transparency and layers,and you can save into a bunch of different formats, but it can't do effects. how much do tablets cost?

Comment

Lemme find something nice to demonstrate...

Photoshop has the layers and opacity. It also has several different styles of "brushes" you can chose from and several ways to chose colors. You can also change the brushes' sizes, opacity, and flow, and I think you can even create your own brushes, but I've never tried it before. It's loaded with all kinds of things I haven't explored yet, but there are filters (tons of filters) and the layers can have settings.