UK/Europe Travel Recommendations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• UK/Europe Travel Recommendations

Well, as I mentioned in my other, completely unrelated thread, I am studying abroad in England for the next six months. And aside from all the studying I'm going to be doing (I just registered for my courses... wowie!), I want to do a lot of traveling. I've never been outside of the US before now (Canada for a day does not count), so... where should I go? I'm in Northern England, so it's easy for me to go anywhere in the UK, or down to Europe when I have a longer break. I have a friend who'll be in Scotland I'll go see, and I also saw some pretty pictures in National Geographic of the Isle of Skye in Northern Scotland, so I want to go there, if anyone knows anything about that. I'll have to do some of the basic highlights (Tower of London, London Eye, go down to Paris and go to the Louvre, etc.), but if anyone has any particular recommendations that are off of the beaten tourist path, that would be great. Especially if they're inexpensive, because I'm just a poor student and the exchange rate isn't great...

Thanks a lot!

P.S. I am SO buying the Feline Wizards books when I find them. And Wizard of Mars on its release date, no matter the exchange rate.
    ~*~
    ...to have been this once, completely, even if only once: to have been at one with the earth, seems beyond undoing.
    - Rainer Maria Rilke, The Ninth Elegy

Once the winter lets up try a Rhine cruise. It's fairly cheap. You can get on and off anywhere you want. If you can afford it, get an Erail pass pass, it works on almost ant public transport, or it used to. Buy it before you go to the continent though. You should be able to buy it in the UK.

Comment

Nice - which uni are you going to be studying at?